Ladner Pioneers Repeat as Provincial Champions

by Frank Geyer

The Ladner Pioneers are the 2023 League and Provincial Champions after sweeping the best-of-3 final 2 games to none. The deal was sealed Sunday afternoon at the Ladner Leisure Centre when the hosts defeated the Victoria Shamrocks 21-5. The opening period was close, with the Pioneers taking a 4-3 lead into the first intermission, but the reigning champs erupted for 14 goals in the middle frame and another 8 goals and cruised the rest of the way to punch their card to a second straight Presidents Cup.

James Rahe (4G, 6A) led scoring, with Tyler Pace chipping in 9 assists and Dean Fairlall also scoring 4 goals. Matt Hills notched his first playoff win in net, stopping 30 of 35 shots. 

Next stop for the Pioneers is the Senior B National Lacrosse Championship in Oakville, Ontario starting August 27th.