Pioneers Sweep Final

by Frank Geyer

The Ladner Pioneers are the 2022 BC Provincial Senior B Lacrosse Champions after defeating the North Shore Indians in Game 3 of the best-of-5 final 11-3 Saturday night in North Delta. Tyler Kirkby led scorers with 5 points (1G, 4A) and Eric Penney stopped 29 of 32 shots for the win.

The Pioneers finish the 2022 campaign undefeated through the regular season and playoffs. This is the first time in the 54-year history of the WCSLA/ICSLL that a team had a undefeated regular season.

Ladner now advances to the Presidents Cup National Senior B Lacrosse Championship in Edmonton, AB, August 28 - September 3, 2022. The last time a BC team won the Presidents Cup was in 2004 when Ladner accomplished the feat, and hopes are high that the Pioneers can bring the trophy home after an 18-year drought!

Click here to open the article in the Delta Optimist.